Pedri wins overwhelming votes to win Golden Boy 2021

Browse By

Pedri González wins overwhelming votes to win Golden Boy 2021. Barcelona‘s young midfielder Pedri has been name the 2021 Golden Boy award for his outstanding performance at the club. And the Spanish national team.

Pedri González England midfielder Jude Bellingham. finishing second. The young Spanish international midfielder, just 18, was vote first with 26 of them, nine in second and three in third.

Only two journalists were not named Pedri González in the three places voted. This is enough to give the Barcelona midfielder an overwhelming victory with 318 points.

He won the 19th Golden Boy award, an award given to youngsters under 21 playing in the European League. They have all touched the trophy. 

This meant that Pedri finished with 318 total points, well ahead of the second-placed Jude Bellingham. Never in the history of the award has there been such a gap between first and second.

Office of the Golden Boy Award Winner

2003 – Rafael van der Vaart

2004 – Wayne Rooney

2005 – Lionel Messi

2006 – Chase Fabregas

2007 – Sergio Aguero

2008 – Anderson

2009 – Alexandre Pato

2010 – Mario Balotelli

2011 – Mario Gotze

2012 – Isco

2013 – Paul Pogba

2014 – Raheem Sterling

2015 – Anthony Martial

2016 – Renato Sanchez

2017 – Kylian Mbappe

2018 – Matthijs de Ligt

2019 – Joao Felix

2020 – Erling Haaland

2021 – Pedri